Search form

ANSES, National Focal Point for EFSA

The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) is a European Union (EU) organisation responsible for assessing health risks related to food for human and animal consumption, nutrition, animal health and welfare, and plant health and protection. EFSA issues scientific opinions and communicates on existing and emerging risks.

Like in France, the European system of food safety is set up in such a way that risk assessment is separate from risk management. As part of its risk assessment mission, EFSA issues scientific opinions and recommendations to the European Commission, the European Parliament and to the Member States of the EU, which then make decisions concerning risk management. 

The EFSA mission covers the safety of food intended for human and animal consumption, nutrition, animal health and welfare, and plant health and protection. In view of its areas of interest, ANSES is a key partner for EFSA and for the other French organisations that are called on to work with the European authority.

To foster cooperation, EFSA interacts with the Member States via: 

  • An Advisory Forum
  • A network of national focal points
  • A network on communication
  • Scientific networks supporting the EFSA units
  • A list of competent organisations (under Article 36 of its founding regulation) which are eligible to assist EFSA in its tasks

Cooperation can therefore take place:

  • via the national representative (representative in EFSA’s Advisory Forum, focal point, representative, representative in the scientific and communication networks)
  • at the institutional level (cooperation with the competent organisations under Article 36 of EFSA’s founding regulation, stakeholders)
  • on an individual basis (participation in the scientific panels, working groups

Modalities of French cooperation with EFSA are detailed in the following documents:

brochure on cooperation between France and EFSA and page on cooperation with EFSA


EFSA Focal Points: 2008 - 2018 a decade of networking for European food safety

Established in 2008, the Focal Point network comprises members from all 28 EU Member States, Iceland and Norway, as well as observers from Switzerland and pre-accession countries. It promotes information exchange, networking and engagement, and also plays an important role in building EU risk assessment capacity and increasing the visibility and outreach of the scientific work carried out by EFSA and Member States.

For the past 10 years EFSA's Focal Points have been acting as ambassadors in EU Member States and operating as a network of cross-border collaboration on food safety. To mark the 10-year anniversary, an interactive timeline highlights the milestones and key achievements of the Focal Point network.

For more information :