Search form

anses

French Agency for Food, Environmental and Occupational Health & Safety

The article has been added to your library

Updated on 04/02/2020

Zoonoses

Definition and presentation

Keywords : Zoonosis, Animal diseases

As is the case for humans, animal health can be threatened by various pathogens (bacteria, viruses, parasites). Some of these pathogens are specific to one or several different animal species, while others can infect both animals and humans. These latter are responsible for diseases known as zoonoses (singular: zoonosis). Certain ANSES laboratories are specialised in zoonoses, and some of them hold national or European reference mandates in the field. Below is a definition of this particular type of disease and a presentation of the role of the Agency in this domain.

The term “zoonosis” comprises a wide range of diseases. Some zoonoses target the digestive system (salmonellosis, campylobacteriosis, etc.), while others can affect therespiratory system(avian flu, SARS, etc.), the liver (hepatitis E virus), the nervous system (rabies), or several organs at once.

Their severity in humans can be highly variable depending on the disease itself (the pathogen can be more or less virulent) or it can depend on the infected individual, and their particular susceptibility to the pathogen. This is often the case in people with a weak immune system (individuals who are immunocompromised or taking immunosuppressant drugs, young children, elderly people, pregnant women).

 

How are zoonoses transmitted?

The ways in which zoonoses can be transmitted to humans are diverse. Certain zoonotic agents are transmitted through direct contact between humans and animals (rabies virus, avian flu, etc.), while others are transmitted by the environment (water, soil, etc.) or via foods contaminated by an animal or its faeces (salmonella, toxoplasmosis, the anisakis parasitic worm, etc.). In addition, some zoonoses can also be transmitted from one infected individual to another.

 

What is ANSES doing with regard to zoonoses?

In its laboratories, some of which hold specific zoonosis reference mandates, ANSES conducts research programmes and develops diagnostic tools for the detection and surveillance of these pathogens. This work helps to expand knowledge about zoonoses and their interactions with hosts (virulence factors, mechanisms of action, etc.), and on factors favouring transgression of the species barrier, etc., all of which helps improve understanding and in the end makes it possible to exercise more effective control over these pathogens. 

As part of their national, European and international reference mandates, the Agency's laboratories also coordinate official surveillance networks for a certain number of zoonotic agents (salmonella, listeria, rabies, tuberculosis, etc.). For a five-year period that began on 1 January 2018, ANSES has been the coordinator of the "One Health" European Joint Programme (EJP), which aims to acquire new knowledge in the areas of foodborne zoonoses, antimicrobial resistance and emerging zoonotic threats.

Additionally, through expert assessments conducted with its Expert Committee on animal health, and its Expert Committee on the assessment of biological food risks, the Agency evaluates the risks linked to micro-organisms, including those which cause zoonoses. This assessment work can be used by the public authorities for drafting regulations for the management of the risks linked to these agents.

Formulaire de recherche

anses

Agence nationale de sécurité sanitaire
de l’alimentation, de l’environnement
et du travail

L'article a été ajouté à votre bibliothèque

Mis à jour le 25/08/2016

Zoonoses

Qu'est-ce qu'une zoonose et comment lutter contre ces maladies ?

Mots-clés : Zoonoses, Maladies animales

Comme celle des hommes, la santé des animaux est susceptible d’être menacée par divers agents pathogènes (bactéries, virus, parasites). Certains de ces pathogènes sont spécifiques à une ou plusieurs espèces animales, d’autres sont capables d’infecter à la fois les animaux et l’Homme. Ces agents sont responsables de maladies appelées zoonoses. Certains laboratoires de l’Anses sont spécialisés dans les zoonoses, détenant parfois des mandats de référence nationaux ou européens. Définition et rôles de l’Agence.

Le terme zoonoses regroupe des maladies très variées. Certaines affections touchent le système digestif (salmonellose, campylobactériose, etc.), d’autres le système respiratoire (grippe aviaire, SRAS, etc.), le foie (virus de l’hépatite E),  le système nerveux (rage), ou encore plusieurs organes à la fois.

Leur gravité chez l’Homme peut être très variable selon la maladie elle-même (l’agent pathogène responsable peut être plus ou moins virulent) mais également selon la personne infectée qui peut présenter une sensibilité particulière à ces pathogènes. C’est souvent le cas des personnes au système immunitaire fragile (immunodéprimés, sous traitement immunosuppresseur, jeunes enfants, personnes âgées, femmes enceintes).

 

Comment se transmettent les zoonoses ?

Les modes de transmissions des zoonoses à l’Homme sont variés. Certains agents zoonotiques se transmettent à l’occasion de contacts directs entre l’Homme et l’animal (virus de la rage, de la grippe aviaire, etc.), d’autres se transmettent par l’intermédiaire de l’environnement (eaux, sols, etc.) ou des aliments contaminés par l’animal ou ses déjections (salmonelles, toxoplasme, ver parasite anisakis, etc.). Par ailleurs, certains de ces pathogènes peuvent également avoir la capacité de se transmettre d’un individu infecté à un autre.

 

Que fait l’Anses vis-à-vis des zoonoses ?

Au sein de ses laboratoires, dont certains détiennent un mandat de référence spécialement pour une zoonose, l’Anses mène des programmes de recherche et développe des outils de diagnostic permettant notamment la détection et la surveillance de ces pathogènes. Ces travaux font avancer la connaissance sur les pathogènes et leurs interactions avec l’hôte (facteurs de virulence, mécanismes d’action, etc.), sur les facteurs de transgression de la barrière d’espèces, etc., ce qui permet de mieux les comprendre et in fine de mieux lutter contre eux.

Au titre de leurs mandats de référence nationaux, européens et internationaux, les laboratoires de l’Agence coordonnent également les réseaux de surveillance officiels d’un certain nombre d’agents zoonotiques (Salmonella, Listeria, Rage, Tuberculose, etc.).

Par ailleurs, à travers les expertises mises en œuvre au sein de ses comités d’experts spécialisés « Santé animale » et « Evaluation des risques biologiques des aliments », l’Agence évalue les risques liés aux micro-organismes, dont notamment ceux à l’origine des zoonoses. Ces travaux d’évaluation peuvent servir notamment aux pouvoirs publics pour l’élaboration des réglementations relatives à la gestion des risques associés à ces agents.